Title: How do I force underline to a specific width ? Post by: Newdecision T. on July 29, 2009, 02:41:48 pm In Genero Report Writer how do i specify the width of a column with the underline attribute ?
I want to do something like this: Code Description --------------------- ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 123456789012345 123456789012345123456789012345123456789012345123456789012345 I am using a fixed width font (Courier New) and I did set the with of the "Code" and "Description" text boxes to the maximum size (15 and 60) but the underline is allways "short" (see atached screen capture "screen_capture_0001.jpg"). Vitorino Ribeiro SINFIC - Sistemas de Informação Industriais e Consultoria, S.A. http://www.sinfic.pt vribeiro@sinfic.pt Versions used: Server: Red Hat Enterprise Linux ES release 4 (Nahant Update 8 ) (arch: x86_64) (64 bits) Genero BDL 2.20.06 Genero Report Writer 1.00.16 Java: java version "1.6.0_14" Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_14-b08) Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (build 14.0-b16, mixed mode) Client: Microsoft Windows XP Professional (Service Pack 3) (arch: x86) (32 bits) Genero Desktop Client 2.20.13 Genero Report Designer 1.00.06-69057 Vitorino Ribeiro SINFIC - Sistemas de Informação Industriais e Consultoria, S.A. http://www.sinfic.pt vribeiro@sinfic.pt Title: Re: How do I force underline to a specific width ? Post by: Alex G. on July 30, 2009, 08:45:39 pm Don't use underline because the size of a space can change from font to font. Instead try the following:
<LAYOUTNODE x-size="min" y-size="min"> <WORDBOX text="Code"/> <LAYOUTNODE bgColor="black" x-size='width("0")*15' y-size="1point"/> </LAYOUTNODE> The expression width("0")*15 works because all digits have the same size also in proportional fonts. You could of course have written width("123456789012345") instead. Title: Re: How do I force underline to a specific width ? Post by: Newdecision T. on July 31, 2009, 10:56:35 am To try your suggestion:
<LAYOUTNODE x-size="min" y-size="min"> <WORDBOX text="Code"/> <LAYOUTNODE bgColor="black" x-size='width("0")*15' y-size="1point"/> </LAYOUTNODE> --> Do I have to manually edit the ".4rp" file or is there a way to do it in the GUI (in the Genero Report Designer) ? Vitorino Ribeiro SINFIC - Sistemas de Informação Industriais e Consultoria, S.A. http://www.sinfic.pt vribeiro@sinfic.pt Title: Re: How do I force underline to a specific width ? Post by: Alex G. on July 31, 2009, 11:18:24 am Yes you could do that but that is not how I meant it :-). You need to translate the XML into designer actions. I write it this way because I think it is shorter then explaining the steps in the designer. The XML translates into the following instructions:
- Drag a LayoutNode from the toolbox into the report. - Set the name of this node to "l1" - Drag a WordBox from the toolbox into "l1" while holding down the control key. - Set the "text" property of this WordBox to "ZIP Code" - Drag a LayoutNode from the toolbox into the structure view and drop it on top of the element "l1" (You should see a rectangle around the element "l1" before the drop). - Set the background color of this new node to black. - Set the x-size value of this new node to "width(0)*15 - set the y-size value to this new node to "1point" |