Title: How do you set default for form field dynamically? Post by: Candy M. on October 25, 2008, 12:37:01 am We would like to set the default for a form field dynamically.
Are there any methods like setFieldHidden(), etc? We would like to search through DOM tree and set the default. Any help is appreciated. Thanks, Candy Title: Re: How do you set default for form field dynamically? Post by: Sebastien F. on October 27, 2008, 10:01:16 am Candy,
I let support people write you an example using the OM interface. The attribute to be set is "defaultValue", in FormField, Matrix or TableColumn nodes. Some questions: - Why don't you use WITHOUT DEFAULTS option and set the field default values in program variables? - Are you using multiple dialogs (DIALOG instruction)? Seb Title: Re: How do you set default for form field dynamically? Post by: Candy M. on October 27, 2008, 08:29:29 pm Seb,
We do use INPUT WITHOUT DEFAULTS now and set it in program variables. What we would like to do is provide a utility so that user can hide fields, activate/inactivate fields, and set their own defaults. I thought it might be easier setting the defaults in the DOM tree and more general so that the code we use, we could use everywhere and not depend on setting program variables. Candy Title: Re: How do you set default for form field dynamically? Post by: Sebastien F. on November 01, 2008, 05:14:14 pm Candy, (sorry for the late answer)
I would not use the AUI tree to implement an application feature like customizable default values. From my understanding, it's just a matter of default value storage.... right? Why don't you just use a simple database table like: CREATE TABLE user_defaults ( target_name VARCHAR(50) NOT NULL, user_name VARCHAR(50) NOT NULL, value VARCHAR(100), PRIMARY KEY (target_name, user_name) ) And write some API around to get/set the values? CALL defaults_setValue("order.ord_state", user_name, "valid") LET rec_order.ord_state = defaults_getValue("order.ord_state", user_name, <default-default>) The get function would need to interpret special values like TODAY, and return a default-default value if nothing found in table: SELECT value INTO p_value FROM user_defaults WHERE target_name = name AND user_name = uname IF SQLCA.SQLCODE == NOTFOUND THEN RETURN default_default END IF IF p_value == "TODAY" THEN RETURN TODAY END IF IF p_value == "CURRENT" THEN RETURN CURRENT END IF RETURN p_value ? Seb Title: Re: How do you set default for form field dynamically? Post by: Candy M. on November 02, 2008, 06:06:55 am Thanks, Seb for your input.
When setting the values on the form, I wanted to avoid having to set it to a program variable. I thought it would be nifty to have one function that I could call and set the default values in the AUI tree instead of having to set the program variables, thus saving on lots of code. Candy |